Award Winning Books

Created by:  Elsa Perales
Interested in reading a real page turner?  We highly recommended checking out some of the award winning books.  Visit the American Library Association at  to view the winners by year.

John Newberry Medal Award   John Newberry Medal Award:   The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author with the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

 Moon Over Manifest  Moon Over Manifest
by Clare Vanderpool
 Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night  Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night
by Joyce Sidman, illustrated by Rick Allen
 Heart of a Samurai  Heart of a Samurai
by Margi Preus
 One Crazy Summer  One Crazy Summer
by Rita Williams-Garcia

Randolf Caldecott MedalRandolf Caldecott Medal:  It is awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
 A sick Day for Amos McGee A Sick Day for Amos McGee
illustrated by Erin E. Stead, written by Philip C. Stead
 Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet Slave  Dave the Potter:  Artist, Poet Slave
illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Laban Carrick Hill
 Interrupting Chicken  Interrupting Chicken
written and illustrated by David Ezra Stein
 The Lion & the Mouse  The Lion & the Mouse
illustrated and written by Jerry Pinkney

Pura Bulpre AwardsPura Bulpre Awards: Recognizes Latino authors and illustrators for excellence in literature.
 The Dreamer  The Dreamer
written by Pam Munoz Ryan, illustrated by Peter Sis
 Grandma's Gift  Grandma's Gift
illustrated and written by Eric Velasquez
 Return to Sender  Return to Sender
written by Julia Alvarez
 Diego: Bigger Than Life  Diego:  Bigger Than Life
written by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand, illustrated by David Diaz


Coretta Scott King Book AwardsCoretta Scott King Book Awards:  
                            Distinguishes Afro-American authors and illustrators that achieve high standards for literature.
                            Some recent winners are:
One Crazy Summer  One Crazy Summer
by Rita Williams-Garcia
 Lockdown  Lockdown
by Walter Dean Myers
 Ninth Ward  Ninth Ward
by Jewell Parker Rhodes
 Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty  Yummy:  The Last Days of a Southside Shorty
written by G. Neri, illustrated by Randy DuBurke


Michael L. Printz AwardsMichael L. Printz Awards:  The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.

Ship Breaker   Ship Breaker
by Paolo Bacigalupi
 Nothing  Nothing
by Janne Teller
 Please Ignore Vera Dietz  Please Ignore Vera Dietz
by A.S. King
 Stolen  Stolen
by Lucy Christopher

Theodore Seuss Geisel AwardTheodore Seuss Geisel Award:   is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States.
Bink and Gollie   Bink and Gollie
by Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee
 Ling & Ting: Not Exactly the Same!  Ling & Ting:  Not Exactly the Same!
written and illustrated by Grace Lin
 Wolfsnail: A Backyard Predator  Wolfsnail:  A Backyard Predator
by Sarah C. Campbell
 One Boy  One Boy
written and illustrated by Laura Vaccaro Seeger

Nondiscrimination Statement:
It is the policy of Edinburg CISD not to discriminate on the basis of sex, age, handicap, religion, race, color, or national origin in its educational programs.
Es poliza del Distrito Escolar de Edinburg el no discriminar por razones con base en sexo, edad, religion, raza, color origen nacional, ni discapacidad dentro de sus programas educacionales.

Terms Of Use |Login
Privacy Statement